• Page 1 of 1
Sonicly Forum » Sonicly Share » Health » Why I Farm
Why I Farm
777Date: Sunday, 24 Oct 2010, 13.54 | Message # 1
Like Sharing
Group: User
User ID: 777
Awards: 0 [+] Loading Awards...
I am a second-generation farmer and the director of Maverick Farms, a working farm and educational center for food and sustainable farming in the southern Appalachian Mountains of western North Carolina. I am 24 years old, I recently graduated from Warren Wilson College and this will be my sixth season farming.

Farming is important to me because I love to work outside, I love working hard and I am committed to helping build a more environmentally and socially just future. I am part of the local-food movement: a social movement of people devoted to growing and eating from small-scale sustainable farms and increasing access to the most nutritious and delicious food available.

Reconnecting local food
In 2004, after spending a few years traveling and working on a number of organic farms internationally, I returned to North Carolina and co-founded Maverick Farms on the farm where I was born and raised.

Maverick Farms' mission is to preserve small-scale farming as a community resource and reconnect local food networks by training a new generation of young farmers. Our main goals are to showcase innovative ways of increasing farm sustainability, provide skills and develop resources about sustainable farming and food production, and bolster our local community's economy by growing and producing food. We offer educational programming and internships for young people and adults, and in 2007, we incorporated as a nonprofit organization to further our educational goals.

The power of CSA