• Page 1 of 1
Sonicly Forum » Sonicly Share » Health » The Opposite of Effort
The Opposite of Effort
777Date: Sunday, 24 Oct 2010, 13.14 | Message # 1
Like Sharing
Group: User
User ID: 777
Awards: 0 [+] Loading Awards...
My name is Michelle Dortignac, and I am the founder of Unnata Aerial Yoga. Unnata (pronounced oo-NOT-ah) Aerial Yoga is a new type of yoga that combines traditional yoga with the physical training of an aerial acrobat. I am a certified yoga instructor, and also a professional aerial acrobatic performer. My aerial acrobatic training has complemented my yoga practice in a surprisingly profound way. Wanting to share this insight with others, I created Unnata Aerial Yoga.

In the class, students use a hammock (think low-hung fabric sling) to support their weight while they practice yoga postures. While this type of hammock is traditionally used in circuses for entertainment, Unnata Aerial Yoga teachers use the hammock to instruct students on how to release chronically tight muscles. Unnata Aerial Yoga is not about performing tricks. In fact, it is about the opposite of effort: release and relaxation.

Learning to relax
Students dangle only inches off the ground to feel gravity elongate and lengthen the spine rather than compress it, which is how gravity normally affects us. In truth, all hatha yoga styles use yoga postures for this same purpose, even if they don't use this unique piece of equipment.

Already a yoga instructor once I began training in aerial acrobatics, I could feel the physical benefits to my back that hanging provided. I could also see how much easier it would be to teach alignment principles through hanging. I had heard of other yoga teachers experimenting with lifting students off the ground, so thought I would design my own version of hanging yoga.